Follow

X-Men

Team » X-Men appears in 13416 issues.

The X-Men are a superhero team of mutants founded by Professor Charles Xavier. They are dedicated to helping fellow mutants and sworn to protect a world that fears and hates them.

X-Men #1

• 126 results
    inferiorego

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 324

User Lists: 12

Edited By inferiorego  Staff

This review is spoiler free! Don't worry! (be happy?)

The Good

Jubilee has herself an orphaned baby and is heading back the the school, but she's being followed by an old and very powerful enemy of the X-Men. However, there's something bigger on the horizon that could destroy all of humanity.

I'm a bit of a flaky X-Men reader. I pretty much only read series written or drawn by some of my favorite characters. Essentially, I'm relatively new to the X-Men world, and I felt very at home with this new series, mainly because it has a tie-in to one of my favorite runs of any comic: Grant Morrison's NEW X-MEN. Even readers that haven't read Morrison's epic in the past should have no problem jumping in because writer Brian Wood does a stupendous job at explaining many aspects of the tie-in that they missed out on. The only thing, as a "new reader" that lost me a tiny bit was the ending because I wasn't familiar with the character the at the end of the issue.

Without giving anything away, I have to say the subject/villain choice for this first story works incredibly well. This isn't an over-used villain, and it's one that has the potential to pose a big threat to the X-Men and the entire Earth. We get to see some of this villain's history and their origin as well in the opening pages. I really haven't been this excited for a conflict, in an X-Men book, in a long time.