Follow

X-Men

Team » X-Men appears in 13416 issues.

The X-Men are a superhero team of mutants founded by Professor Charles Xavier. They are dedicated to helping fellow mutants and sworn to protect a world that fears and hates them.

Which X-Men Comic Series would it be best to start with?

fisheypixels

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Poll Which X-Men Comic Series would it be best to start with? (9 votes)

Uncanny X-Men 44%
    Astonishing X-Men 56%

I'm just getting into comic books, X-Men being my favorite, and I don't know where to start. I guess I already started by buying and reading Grand Morrison's New X-Men (amazing series). But Where should I go now?

• 
    PeppeyHare

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 11

#1  Edited By PeppeyHare

Which volume of Uncanny X-men is this...? Astonishing X-Men is something all X fans should read at some point

Avatar image for oldnightcrawler
    oldnightcrawler

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 19

#2  Edited By oldnightcrawler

" I'm just getting into comic books, X-Men being my favorite, and I don't know where to start. I guess I already started by buying and reading Grand Morrison's New X-Men (amazing series). But Where should I go now?"

I really think that Whedon and Cassaday'sAstonishing X-Men(issues 1-24, Gifted, Dangerous, Torn, andUnstoppable) is just about the best place a new reader can start, short of going back to the early 80's. If you've read Morrison's run on new X-men, this is also a good next step, since it's the run that actually followed it.

Astonishing X-men
    Astonishing X-men

Of course, I do think the current Uncanny X-Men (vol.3?) is a pretty cool and different style of X-men story right now, so if you're more interested in what the X-men are doing now, it's not a bad place to start either, especially if you've already been introduced to the characters in Morrison's run. It's about Cyclops' outlaw X-men school, it's cool.