Where to begin?

#1 Posted by Bwood44 (6 posts) - - Show Bio

Hey all I'm hoping sum1 can help me. I'm a complete noob to comics but really wanna get into the xmen comics but the choice is so staggering and my only experience with xmen is the old animated series as a kid. Could sum1 point me in the right direction please so I am in chronological order if that's even possible

#2 Edited by dangallant984 (1282 posts) - - Show Bio

@Bwood44: hey there! I've been reading X-men for about twenty years now, so I figure I can point you in a pretty good direction. Keep in mind though, everyone likes different periods of the X-men differently. Some people might tell you to start right from the original Lee & Kirby era, some might say Giant Size X-men #1, and a lot of people seem to think that the Dark Phoenix Saga is a good place to start -and none of these people are wrong.

Honestly, I would advise starting just after the Dark Phoenix Saga, with the Days of Future Past storyline. It's only two issues and is pretty easy to find reprinted on it's own. Kitty Pryde has just recently joined the team, and most of the classic characters are still pretty new, but because some of the story is set in the future, we get a good idea of how characters like Kitty herself, the Wolverine and even Magneto are destined to develop over time.

After that, I would advise jumping ahead a little and tracking down God Loves, Man Kills. Between these first two, you should have a pretty good idea of the major themes of the X-men, and remember, almost nobody reads them all in the proper order anyways, and you can always back track once you've got your bearings.