Where do I start reading X-Men

#1 Posted by Irishlad (573 posts) - - Show Bio

I'm fairly new to comics and X-Men has always interested me but I'm not sure where to start.

People have suggested Astonishing X-Men but there is so much X-Men history I feel like I'm missing out.

I have read x factor and it's one of my favourite series but it is disconnected in a way to the X-universe.

So do you have any suggestions on where to start reading so I can be caught up to speed with current X-books or any essential reads?

if you do thanks a lot I really appreciate it.

#2 Posted by moywar700 (2775 posts) - - Show Bio

astonishing x-men 1-25#

The run is easy and fun. It's just cyclops leading his team to fight bad guys. Nothing complicated.

#3 Posted by Dman1366 (616 posts) - - Show Bio

@Irishlad: get the TPB's on Morrison New-Xmen, Whedons Astonishing, House of M, Messiah Complex, Second Coming, Schism, Regenises, and Wolverine and the X-Men and Uncanny Xmen. That should get you caught up currently.

#4 Posted by Werupenstein (37 posts) - - Show Bio

I think pretty much everything from Giant-Size X-Men #1, X-Men #94 through to the end of the Inferno crossover Uncanny X-Men #243 is essential to what the characters are today.

If you just want to pick and choose, Giant-Size X-Men #1, X-Men #94 thorugh to X-Men #138 would be the very best stuff

then Uncanny X-Men #210 to Uncanny X-Men #213

Uncanny X-Men #225 to Uncanny X-Men #243

Everything past 210 are the big events, Mutant Massacre, Fall of the Mutants and Inferno that really changed the team into basically what it is now.

I don't know if there is anyway to get the backup stories from Classic X-Men, but they are some of the best X-men character development stories ever told.

#5 Posted by Osian2 (455 posts) - - Show Bio