Follow

X-Men

Team » X-Men appears in 13416 issues.

The X-Men are a superhero team of mutants founded by Professor Charles Xavier. They are dedicated to helping fellow mutants and sworn to protect a world that fears and hates them.

Wanting to start X-men comics.

Exphio

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Exphio

I'm new to Marvel comics(or pretty much comics in general for the matter) and I'm wanting to start on an ongoing series. Can I start on one of the new X-men comics without the worry of not knowing whats going on? Which series would you recommend?

Also, I read on another's post that the avengers vs x-men is a big factor in the newer Avengers and X-men comics. If so, can someone who knows only basic knowledge of characters from movies/google read these? Or is there a ton more lore behind the series itself?

EDIT:New question on post 9.

Avatar image for oldnightcrawler
    oldnightcrawler

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 19

#2  Edited By oldnightcrawler

@exphio said:

I'm new to Marvel comics(or pretty much comics in general for the matter) and I'm wanting to start on an ongoing series. Can I start on one of the new X-men comics without the worry of not knowing whats going on? Which series would you recommend?

Also, I read on another's post that the avengers vs x-men is a big factor in the newer Avengers and X-men comics. If so, can someone who knows only basic knowledge of characters from movies/google read these? Or is there a ton more lore behind the series itself?

AvsX is one of the more relevant recent events, yeah, but I think the marvel Now books do a decent job of reviewing the parts of it relevant to the stories in the early issues of each. So my advice would be to just jump into a new book and go back to it later if you're still interested.