Follow

X-Men

Team » X-Men appears in 13419 issues.

The X-Men are a superhero team of mutants founded by Professor Charles Xavier. They are dedicated to helping fellow mutants and sworn to protect a world that fears and hates them.

The X-Men Faulty Premise

Liberty

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 301

User Lists: 87

Edited By Liberty

Great Art
     Great Art
    I will admit I am not an expert on the X-Men and the reason for it is I don't like them that much.  I have around 250 X-men related comic and have read a few more.  I have seen most of all the cartoons and movies (some of these I have seen several times).  So, it is with that amount of experience that I am writing this blog.  

What I don't like about the X-Men is not the characters but, the very premise they are based on.  It is the problem of genetics.  Stan Lee said himself that the hard part to making superheroes was creating an origin story that gave them power.  With the X-Men you don't have to do that.   Here are my problems.
    1. Why does each X-Man have a different power?
    2. Why don't multiple X-Men have the same power?
    3. Why don't children always inherit their parents powers they way you would think they would?
    4. The evolutionary aspect is too dramatic and too diverse?

Another Great Shot
     Another Great Shot
    This is a lot so let me try to explain.  Take Archangel for example.  In evolution an animal does not just one day grow wings.  It is a very slow process that takes generations to develop.  The animal will develop feathers and smaller wings and one day generation later the animal will fly.