Bendis and Uncanny 308

#1 Posted by zprime (15 posts) - - Show Bio

So, I just created an account so I could post on these boards. Prior to today I've never even been on this site, however, I felt compelled to sign up and discuss All-New X-Men. For some background, I've been collecting X-titles since 1991 (the only comics I ever read with regularity) and I quit picking up new issues when "New X-Men" launched (I picked up the collections for that entire run which confirmed every single reason why I quit) and just focused on rounding out my collection.

At any rate, I decided on a whim to start back up again with AvX. The series had promise that was only realized in AvX: Consequences, to be completely fair. The writing was jarring at times and, for the sake of full disclosure, I'm squarely in the "Cyclops Was Right" camp. This being said, I'm still picking up X-Men: Legacy, Cable and X-Force, anxiously awaiting UXF and, of course, I'm reading All-New X-Men.

Now that is out of the way, I have to say that All-New has a ton of potential. So far (with one noted exception) the original five have been handled appropriately. However, getting to my point, I'm afraid Bendis simply has it in for Cyclops, both young and old. The scene with Wolverine debating whether he should be executed was idiotic (and no, it wasn't a "lessen" for the new kids; it's terrible writing). Not only is older Cyclops not a villain by any meaningful metric, but it appears that young Cyclops is a pariah for now. The final panel with Jean seems like Bendis is going to take his "fresh take" on the original five in the direction where Scott Summers and Jean Grey do not become the iconic pair that they did in the original timeline (and in fact, if he's setting up a reality where Wolverine and Jean are together he should really just read AoA and be done with it, which completely came back to Scott and Jean anyway, but whatever).