Follow

Wonder Woman

Character » Wonder Woman appears in 8807 issues.

The Amazon princess, blessed with god-like super abilities, Wonder Woman is one of Earth's most powerful defenders of peace, justice, and equality and a member of the Justice League. She is considered an archetype for many heroines outside of comic book. Her initial origin depicted her as a clay baby brought to life by patron goddess Aphrodite, but in recent years she has been depicted as the daughter of Zeus and Amazon queen Hippolyta.

Heracles As An Antogonist

Agent_Z

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hi, I'm new to comic vine and have been a WW fan since 2009. I was wondering what I'd post as my first discussion and, well, I guess I just had to get this off my chest. I understand this is going to be controversial, but I generally do want an honest and civil conversation here and I hoe we can.I apologize if my language come across as offensive or confrontational to anyone.

I've noticed how people are willing to accept Azzarello's characterization of the Amazons, stating it as more accurate to Greek myths. Alright, I can accept that even if I don't like it myself. However, it seems that any interpretations of Heracles in a less than positive light gets a similar reaction to how some people felt about Azzarello's Amazons. In fact, it seems that the Amazons reasons for hating men has been either downplayed or outright ignored, whereas Heracles' situation is made to be more tragic. Why do you think this is? Is it because the Amazons being victims makes it difficult for them to be seen as strong warriors?

FoamBorn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers