Wonder Woman #1

No_Name_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 55

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By No_Name_

After not knowing who she was or where she's come from for as long as we have, it's refreshing to finally read a Wonder Woman who is self assured and confident in herself once again. This might be the Wonder Woman series her fans have been waiting for.

The Good

First, Cliff Chiang is phenomenal in this issue and is the perfect artist for the book -- it's also clear as to why he was chosen for this project. Chiang's style is angular and reminds me of the art from Greece's Archaic period; the same illustrations that can be found in the sculptures and clay pots of that era. I'm no art expert, so I've linked to some folks that are to help draw a comparison between Chiang's style in Wonder Woman #1 and the art from that period, here.

When it was announced that this version of Wonder Woman would be darker, they weren't kidding. The issue opens with the son of Zeus (though it's not clear which) who is hungry for power, surrounded by beautiful women. You get a clear idea that this will be the adversary Diana will likely face in this story arc, and he's interesting. The dialogue is entertaining, and the character is very creepy. He is able to possess and manipulate women with ease, and he seems to have little regard for human life. The second adversary in the story is Hera, and it's true what they say; Hera is not a woman you want to cross paths with -- particularly if you're human. Diana steps into the issue about a third of the way in and she seems to immediately identify her adversary in this book. The dialogue is interesting and entertaining and will leave you wanting more.

The Bad