Mark Waid to Write GREEN HORNET in 2013

Posted by G-Man (30310 posts) - - Show Bio

New York Comic Con usually means big announcements in comics. It doesn't start until Thursday but Dynamite Entertainment is rolling out the announcements out early. We've been told that Mark Waid is getting ready to start working on his first Dynamite series, THE GREEN HORNET in 2013.

Here's what Waid had to say:

It should come as little surprise that I have an affinity for all costumed crimefighters no matter if their adventures are 'period pieces' or not--heroism is heroism regardless of whatever year's on the calendar. With this Green Hornet project, which I've been percolating on for more than ten years, I'm able to meld my love of the Hornet's legacy with a little bit of Citizen Kane and a lot of Lawrence of Arabia to tell a story never before told--the dark years of the Hornet's later career and the one mistake he makes that nearly costs him everything.

Dynamite also announced that Paolo Rivera, who has worked with Waid on DAREDEVIL, will be drawing the covers for the series.

I wasn't very familiar with The Green Hornet growing up, but I always thought he looked sleek and stylish - I guess I had a soft spot for old-school heroes. I later discovered that he was designed by H. J. Ward, my favorite painter of all time. The more I learned about Ward, the more I learned about Britt Reid and Kato, including Reid's familial ties to The Lone Ranger. I can't wait to render my interpretation of the green team. That, and I miss Mark Waid.

Dynamite has been after Waid pretty much since they started. Each time they talked, Waid's schedule was full. Now everything is lining up. 2013 sounds like it's a ways off but it's really not too far away.

What do you think about Waid taking on the original Green Hornet?

Staff
#1 Posted by saoakden (1011 posts) - - Show Bio

Sounds awesome.

#2 Posted by sethysquare (3843 posts) - - Show Bio