What is the DCnU Superman's origin?

#1 Posted by Omega-Man (756 posts) - - Show Bio

I know people roll there eyes even I do as a Superman fan but really I have no knowledge of this Superman's origin at all, like how did Ma and Pa Kent die? and when did they die? What does this Kal EL's Kryptonian parents look like? Has this Superman got a Fortress of Solitude? Is there still Green Kryptonite? How rare is it? Is there a General Zod in this universe?

And this is from just the origin story, sure I like the new take but really I want more information on Superman's origin.

#2 Posted by Jekylhyde14 (746 posts) - - Show Bio

We'd all like the answers to these questions. The only thing that will deliver them to us is time. My best educated guesses are all I can give you. Pa Kent has traditionally passed away from a heart attack, so that's where I'd put the smart money on his death. However, with the fact that Ma's deceased as well, we may not rule out something like a car crash that tragically kills them both at once (in the Silver Age they died from a weird, tropical virus from the past, but that's not likely to happen again). I would think that they died sometime around Clark's college years because in every age they've been alive long enough to see him through High School. I would say, yes there will be a Fortress of Solitude and Green Kryptonite at some point in the story. I feel like they'd probably want to keep it pretty rare at first to keep it from being overused. I have a feeling we'll see Phantom Zone criminals at some point whether Zod is among them or not. Whether Morrison or Perez write in any of these things is another question altogether. We may not see some of them until the next round of creators.

As for Krypton and Superman's birth parents, Morrison's revamp has followed the Golden Age mythos pretty well so far. Maybe it'll resemble something like this: http://www.thespeedingbullet.com/daily/ep01_15/ep1.html