Spiderman TPB For my teenage nephew

#1 Posted by Donnyuk84 (2 posts) - - Show Bio

Hi this is my first time posting on here. I really enjoy comics and my nephew is just getting interested in them. He really likes spiderman and I wanted to get him a tpb / graphic novel that contains a good story but doesnt necessarily need prior reading to enjoy it. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

#2 Posted by Jonny_Anonymous (32676 posts) - - Show Bio
@Donnyuk84: Ultimate Spider-Man: Power & Responsibility 
#3 Posted by danhimself (22278 posts) - - Show Bio

@Jonny_Anonymous said:

@Donnyuk84: Ultimate Spider-Man: Power & Responsibility

yup...my friend's son recently turned 10 and I got him the first two trades of Ultimate Spider-man and he loved them...I figure I'll get him a new one every once in a while and won't have to worry about running out since there are tons

#4 Posted by Dark_Vengeance_ (14587 posts) - - Show Bio

@Jonny_Anonymous said:

@Donnyuk84: Ultimate Spider-Man: Power & Responsibility

or get him slott's current run.

#5 Posted by Meteorite (3351 posts) - - Show Bio

When I first started getting into comics (when I was 13 or so), I got a copy of Essential Spider-Man, Vol.1. Considering that it has the very first stories, you really can't get a better jumping on point than that. The only downsides are that it's in B&W and the stories can be a little dated, but you'll still get some great stories and artwork for a cheap price.

#6 Posted by Jayso4201 (595 posts) - - Show Bio

Marvel Masterwork's Spider-Man is very good as well. I believe there are several.

#7 Edited by Styleshift (6 posts) - - Show Bio

Spider-man: Birth of Venom and Spider-man: Vengeance of Venom.

I do agree that the Stan Lee story's hold up well but with my own experience as an uncle of 7 kids. Venom is the usually the fan favorite among kids. Especially in his earliest appearances.