Follow

Spider-Man

Character » Spider-Man appears in 17252 issues.

Peter Parker was bitten by a radioactive spider as a teenager, granting him spider-like powers. After the death of his Uncle Ben, Peter learned that "with great power, comes great responsibility." Swearing to always protect the innocent from harm, Peter Parker became Spider-Man.

Is it worth starting at the beginning?

theQman121

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By theQman121

I'm new to comics, as I've said probably one too many times throughout the site. I felt the DC New 52 would give me a good place to start, but that doesn't cover Marvel, obviously.  

I was always a big fan of Spider-Man as a kid. I don't know why, but I was. I loved the movies that matter (meaning not 3), and think if I read comics, it's only fair I read Spider-Man, no matter what's going on. I've heard limited things about the current goings on, and would like to read up to that point. 

The real question, though, is (taking money or availability out of the question, taking only the comics themselves into account) is it worth it to read from Amazing Spider-Man #1 or is there a place I should jump on instead. I hear Ultimate Spider-Man thrown around sometimes, but I want to start with the "main" story. 

Thanks so much!

MrUnknown

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By MrUnknown
    @theQman121: No it's not, you should just start from the current arc and read previous stories as you generate enough interest for them. So you should most certainly not worry about reading out of order! :>
    theQman121

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By theQman121

I'm thinking of reading the Venom issues that came out recently, and I heard those will factor into Spider-Island. Is there anywhere I should start to get into that, or should I start right with ASM 666?

Comicfan47

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 1