Follow

Spider-Man

Character » Spider-Man appears in 17242 issues.

Peter Parker was bitten by a radioactive spider as a teenager, granting him spider-like powers. After the death of his Uncle Ben, Peter learned that "with great power, comes great responsibility." Swearing to always protect the innocent from harm, Peter Parker became Spider-Man.

I'm new to spiderman comics. Where do I start?

CoolMarquis97

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By CoolMarquis97

If I've never read a single comic book about spider-man, what comicbooks should I read first?

Avatar image for deactivated-5d921c81bd12c
    deactivated-5d921c81bd12c

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 3

The Poet and group of other users (including myself) are making a list of the best Spider-Man stories ever so when that's finished I recommend trying some stuff from there.

For now I recommend you get caught up on recent events with the new Spidey as the volume only started recently, here is a link :)

Ninjablade09

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#3  Edited By Ninjablade09

I suggest early Amazing Spider-man back when Stan Lee was writing. You can find those in Marvel Masterworks. I also say if you want more recent Spider-man stories read Ultimate Spider-man 1-160. It's a more modern version of the character about 10 years old. Spider-men was really good. If you want the current Spidey, Superior Spider-man 1 came out in January. It's not great for older Spider-man fans but if you have never read Spider-man before it would be a decent read. If you decide to read Superior I suggest you read Amazing Spider-man 698-690 and Avenging Spider-man (which is also great) 15.1 to get you up to speed. Hope this helps and enjoy what you read.

CoolMarquis97

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By CoolMarquis97

Thank you both!

Humanoid

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By Humanoid