Follow

Spider-Man

Character » Spider-Man appears in 17241 issues.

Peter Parker was bitten by a radioactive spider as a teenager, granting him spider-like powers. After the death of his Uncle Ben, Peter learned that "with great power, comes great responsibility." Swearing to always protect the innocent from harm, Peter Parker became Spider-Man.

Bare Essentials

new2comics

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By new2comics

Hello all. I am very new to the comic world although i have seen most of the comic book movies in the past 10 years  (the live action ones that everyone seems to hate). I was thinking it was about time to enter the world of comics so I picked four characters that seemed most interesting to me: deadpool, thor, the hulk, and spiderman. (i know these are now most household names especially because of the movies released, but they also seemed the most entertaining after reading abit on the internet.)  

Now, onto another issue, because i chose 4, i would like to pick only a few of each to start with and eventually expand out.  

What are, in your opinion, the most bare essential spiderman collections? I have heard great things about the death of spiderman story arc, and although I may not know ultimate spidermans full history, I feel like that would be a good pick up. 
     What makes those the "must have" issues?
    JairamGanpat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 19

#2  Edited By JairamGanpat

I'm not a major expert BUT I know that the Gauntlet reintroduces many of Spidey's villains and the JMS run on Spider-man is well liked amongst most of the comicviners. so yeah 

Gauntlet Link 
    JMS Run: 471-543

RUSTMAN

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By RUSTMAN

If you can find the "Where Should I Start Thread?" that's always chock full of good recommendations...