Are they robooting Spider-Man too early?

#1 Posted by OracleX (294 posts) - - Show Bio

This not "Why the Amazing Spider-Man will suck thread." I am looking at it from a time line perspective. My apologies if a similar thread has alread been made.

The last one came out in 2007, which was the same year I graduated from high school. Yes I know it wasn't that good, but it was a very memorable experience. I remember so many scenes from that extremely cheesy movie that I feel like I'm still in the theater. This was the first full comic trilogy I actually watched in the theaters. I had grown to love these characters: The girl-next-door Mary Jane Watson. The tough as nails editor Jonah Jamison. And of course, the affable web-slinging Peter Parker. It filled me with a kind of hope that I needed at a time when I was freaking out about my future. Spider-Man was the first comic-based movie that made me think these floppy picture books might have compelling story lines.

I'm not sure if I'm ready to watch Spider-Man portrayed in a different light. There is no denying that more comic movies have developed darker tones to match the economically uncertain times. The Avengers was good fun for everyone but none of the heroes could be defined as relatable. This version of Peter Parker seems focused and in control. The movie looks spectacular visually but I'm not sure if it will resonate emotionally with the audience. The actors are top-notch, but do we really need another brooding super-hero right now? If anything I would have preferred seeing an ultimate Spider-Man featuring Miles Morales (I know how complicated that would be, but I really love the kid and the concept.)

I will watch The Amazing Spider-Man in theaters, but I get the feeling I won't be able to stop comparing it to the first movie that made me believe in the terrific story-telling based off comics.

#2 Posted by The_Tree (7209 posts) - - Show Bio