Why does the whole Internet think Rogue's name is Marie D'Ancanto

#1 Posted by NetSpiker (294 posts) - - Show Bio

In the movies Rogue was just called Marie. But then I go on Marvel Comics Database and they say her full name is Marie D'Ancanto. Wikipedia, Marvel Movies Wiki, IMDb and just about everything else on the internet seems to agree. Is there something I missed?

#2 Posted by Decoy Elite (30041 posts) - - Show Bio

Her last name...

#3 Posted by NetSpiker (294 posts) - - Show Bio

@Decoy Elite: When was it mentioned?

#4 Posted by Decoy Elite (30041 posts) - - Show Bio

@NetSpiker said:

@Decoy Elite: When was it mentioned?

I don't know. I was just assuming...

#5 Edited by JediXMan (29679 posts) - - Show Bio

Believe the comics over the movies. Though her last name is sometimes debated on, I believe. But I am no Rogue expert.

#6 Posted by Vance Astro (91123 posts) - - Show Bio
@NetSpiker said:

In the movies Rogue was just called Marie. But then I go on Marvel Comics Database and they say her full name is Marie D'Ancanto. Wikipedia, Marvel Movies Wiki, IMDb and just about everything else on the internet seems to agree. Is there something I missed?

I was just on Marvel Database. Rogue's name "Anna Marie".Marie D'Ancanto is only the name of the movie version. In Earth-616, Marie & Rogue are two different characters.
#7 Posted by NetSpiker (294 posts) - - Show Bio

@lykopis: I've found the subtitles for the movie on Database of Movie Dialogs. There is no mention of Marie's surname. And I am aware that her name is Anna Marie in the comics. I'm talking about the movie version.

Maybe her surname was revealed in one of the novelization, comic adaptations or comic prequels. I haven't read those yet.

#8 Posted by CATPANEXE (9368 posts) - - Show Bio

It was the name given to her as of X2 in the films, the comic character of the same name was based off that.

#9 Posted by NetSpiker (294 posts) - - Show Bio