Pour Out The Cup: An Open Letter to Marvel

Posted by Wolfgangg (13 posts) - - Show Bio

To whom it may concern,

This is definitely a difficult letter for me to write. Ever since I can remember, I have been a huge fan of Marvel comics. Growing up it seemed that the M universe was everything I wanted comics to be. Beautiful women, powerful men, and crazy story lines that could only happen in comic books. Wide eyed with wonder I would buy up everything I could [mostly those pesky X titles], completely infatuated with what seemed to be obvious metaphors for real life. I can recall [and I think anyone who was growing up reading Marvel feels the same way] wishing that my mutant powers would manifest themselves as I hit puberty. I was definitely a Marvel child.
Then I started to grow up. I graduated High School, and started moving my life forward trying to figure out what I wanted to do with myself. Most of my petty childhood dreams and ambitions had been thrown out the window, and with that, I just stopped reading comic books [for the most part]. I graduated college, got my life together, moved out of my parents house, and finally felt like an adult [the most someone of my n3rdom could anyways]. This was the time to start getting back into comic books [now that I actually had some free time and moolah].
This was right around the time that the Civil War was happening. Someone had suggested it as a good starting point to get back into the MU. After reading the first issue, I immediately gobbled up every issue [including variants] I could, loving every panel and digesting the story as I would a fine cut of Kobe Beef. Without doing an actual review of CW, I must say that the tie ins between this story and what America was going through in it's post 9/11 era were remarkable. A multiversal mirror saying things about events taking place in our own realm in ways that I could not.