Follow

Marvel

Publisher »

Formerly known by names including "Atlas" and "Timely", Marvel Entertainment is the publisher of comic books featuring iconic characters and teams such as the Fantastic Four, Spider-Man, the Avengers, the X-Men, Iron Man, the Hulk, Thor, Captain America and Daredevil. Currently owned by the Walt Disney Company, Marvel is one of the "Big Two" comic publishers along with DC Comics.

Avengers vs. X-Men, Where to start?

esreborn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By esreborn

I'm still new in the comic book world and for the most part I've been buying primarily DC comics to get caught up in that universe. I just recently started buying Spider-Man, Iron Man, Avengers comics these past couple of weeks; yet I won't have time for a while to start reading them.

I don't know anything about the Marvel universe other than basics (but you might consider that limited). I heard of a Hope? Cable is the son of Jean Grey and Scott Summers? Things like that which should be common knowledge I just found out about. So that just goes to show how much I know.

My question is, what would you consider mandatory reading to be brought up to speed on the big AVX story.

Below are the comics I've recently purchased and I have yet to research a proper read order as well. What else do I need to get/read?

• New Avengers 1-64 + 3 Annuals + All the mini-series that impacted the New Avengers
    • Avengers Illuminati
    • Avengers Dissembled
    • Civil War
    • Secret War
    • Secret Invasion
    • Siege (and related 1-shots)
    • House of M 1-8
    • Spider-Man House of M 1-5
    • Spider-Man: American Son 1-4
    • Identity Wars (Deadpool, Hulk, Spider-Man)
    • The Avengers Annual 1
    • The Avengers 24.1
    • The New Avengers 20, 22, 23
    • Avengers Sanction 1-4
    • Venom 13.1-13.4 (bought because I'm going to frame the covers together; badass)
    • Avengers Assemble 1
    • Avengers vs. X-Men 0