Newbie HULK question

#1 Posted by Prydonian (2 posts) - - Show Bio

I am new to this forum so thought it best to introduce myself.  I live in the UK, I have been collecting comics for about 10 years on and off.  I collect a range of comics, mainly Marvel, including the Hulk comics.  But I seem to have missed some Hulk related plot details somewhere along the way. 

When I read the Planet Hulk and WW Hulk comics Bruce Banner had control of the Hulk and his strength was augmented to incalculable levels, then when I picked the comics up again a little later the Hulks is somewhat stupid again and his strength levels are back to normal(for him) - what happened?

Please forgive me if this topic has been discussed before, I suspect it has?, but this question has been annoying me for a while.
#2 Posted by AtPhantom (14521 posts) - - Show Bio

To be honest, we don't know what happened. After WWH, the Hulk received a new title with a new writing team, and they decided to make Hulk stupid again, without, to my knowledge, giving any explanation for it. My guess is after the whole trauma of revelations at the end of WWH, the old Hulk personality simply re asserted itself in Banner's mind.

Welcome to the vine Prydonian.

#3 Posted by Prydonian (2 posts) - - Show Bio
@AtPhantom: Isn't that a bit silly? changing the whole concept of the comic without telling anyone - did no one in the comic community think "hold up"?.  Anyway, I wonder if the idea behind it was because the writers wanted to bring in the red Hulk but they realised that the WW Hulk would be too poweful for him and reverted him back to his original form? Or when the Hulk fought Sentry at the conclusion of the WW Hulk series somehow he lost his new power?

Thanks
Prydonian (could you tell I like Dr Who?)
#4 Posted by brc2000 (1679 posts) - - Show Bio

The Hulk's had a lot of personalities over the years so it's not exactly something new.

#5 Posted by mister garbage (365 posts) - - Show Bio