Haunts new creative direction.

#1 Posted by daves_phat (2 posts) - - Show Bio

Hi all,

I am fairly new to comics, starting with my IPad one and Comixology.the first comic a read was the Walking Dead, which naturally led me into other Kirkman work, The Astounding Wolfman, Invincible and finally Haunt.

Haunt was incredible, i thought, the artwork was like nothing I had really seen in my limited experience, and I love the premise of these to characters forced to work together, bringing all their baggage with them. it was also really nice to start at the beginning, something that has always daunted me about works from Marvel and DC was knowing that i could not really read something and truly understanding all the history. with Haunt i was with it as it developed, meeting all the characters and the world and seeing how they developed, it was really good fun.

Kirkman created and McFarlane seemed to be developing some really strong foundations, with a good mix on antagonists and a nice supporting cast that i enjoyed learning more about.

so now there has been a change, a new creative team. I'd like to address to elements, the art, and the story. firstly the art, while i have already stated that i thought the art in the original Haunts was great, it does not mean that is the only art style i like, or think is appropriate for Haunt. I like the new artistic direction, i think it is more fluid and accentuates different elements of haunt.

new story direction and dialogue I feel is more disconcerting. firstly the loss of the agency. The agency seemed like a really good part of the original, the fact that haunt was now working in a vacuum, their were all these other characters for him to interact with, by removing this I feel that a fun element has just been erased, there is not even any closure in seen the agency attacked or destroyed, its just gone.