#1 Posted by the_mighty_i (27 posts) - - Show Bio

I am new to X-Men comics I need a reading order of the modern age, but i dont mind going back if there is a comic which explains something (eg the origin stories)

#2 Edited by Dark_Guyver (2494 posts) - - Show Bio

http://www.comicvine.com/x-men/4060-3173/forums/jumping-into-x-men-1450899/#4

This talks about good comics to read for Xmen

#3 Posted by papad1992 (7015 posts) - - Show Bio

I am new to X-Men comics I need a reading order of the modern age, but i dont mind going back if there is a comic which explains something (eg the origin stories)

How far back you want to go!?

#5 Posted by oldnightcrawler (5059 posts) - - Show Bio

I would consider the contemporary age of X-men to have started with Morrison's new X-men, but if you don't want to go back that far, I'd suggest starting with Whedon and Cassaday's Astonishing X-men (2004). It's 25 issues/4 trades; it's a very good contemporary introduction to the characters, and features the team that would be in House of M (2005), which would be my next suggestion.

Following that, major stories would include:

• Messiah Complex
  • Messiah War
  • Second Coming
  • Schism

and Avengers vs. X-Men, which is the most recent game changing story. Although I'm sort of inclined to suggest reading the AvsX: Consequences mini series instead, because it's better written and explains most of the key events of AvsX, but I've been reviled for such advice before.

I would also recommend reading Wood's recent run on (adjective-less) X-men, though it probably isn't necessary. It's more about what Storm's team was doing just before AvsX.

Hope this helps!

#6 Posted by tomchu (533 posts) - - Show Bio

@the_mighty_i:

If you want the core reason why the X-Men are so popular, then pick up a couple of trades from the Claremont era, which is anything that ranges from #94 all the way to... #281 in Uncanny X-Men.