Can Someone Explain What This Whole RPG Forum Is About?

lorbo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By lorbo

I am new to this RPG forum. How do you guys use it? I know you do Role Playing Games, but I am not sure how. Do you guys just post replies and play that way? I have never played a role playing game, although I have seen guys play popular card games where they battle it out Pokemon style. Is that what this forum is (no pun intended for those of you that hate pokemon, I just know guys play that)?

Is this difficult? I would imagine so cause anyone can post anything at anytime, effectively screwing up any battle thread you guys do if you playing a game.

Glorious

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Glorious

Read the threads at the top. They'll help you understand.

Urban_Ronin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Urban_Ronin

@lorbo: Here on CV the majority of the RP is based around a comicbook format. What I mean by that is first, you create a character (and cause its a comicbook website the norm is to use character like say, Batman, as an archetype). Thats not to say you just create Batman, but a character that may resemble him in appearance, action, etc.

There are established rules that keep things organized for the most part. There are event rpgs (think of those as a story arc in a comicbook) and there are location threads. Location threads are used for basic interaction and rapid passed exchanges and stories.

But like I said, the first step is creating a character. At least the look and general idea of what their abilities and personality are. Its like Fan-Fiction only you write with other authors to create a unique story.

Feral Nova

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

#4  Edited By Feral Nova  Moderator

@lorbo: It's actually not difficult at all :)

All the information you need to know about RPing on the site is located here