Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 8

Poll Retail or Fast Food? (13 votes)

Retail 38%
Fast food 62%

Typically what's the bigger nightmare for a young kid entering the work world ? I got my start in fast food, but I heard my share of retail horror stories.

But what aboot you guys? (I did aboot on purpose)

• 
Avatar image for fallschirmjager
Fallschirmjager

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 32

User Lists: 16

#1  Edited By Fallschirmjager

I work in a store. I have little responsibility, my tasks require little to no skills and get paid pretty decently. (I also live about 5 minutes drive away, literally)

Zero complaints.

Darling_Luna

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Darling_Luna
Avatar image for beaconofstrength
BeaconofStrength

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By BeaconofStrength

It really depends. I started with retail, and it can be a real pain dealing with some people. I think the worst part is dealing with shop lifters, because a majority of them get off free. You cant do anything about it, or you will get a cut in your pay. My experience with retail aint that great.

_Gaff_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

My first job was at a grocery store. It wasn't that bad.

Fallschirmjager

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By Fallschirmjager

@darling_luna said:

@fallschirmjager: So not a hassle ? hehe

Not even a little bit.

My first job was working at a Restoration Business. (I was 18). Overtime is almost mandatory, the work is very physical and exhausting and you have to be on an on-call schedule (usually rotating with other employees) which requires you to be ready 24/7 for whatever week. If that means waking your ass up in the middle of the night, you wake up and go.