Intimidated away from picking up an established character?

Avatar image for unbreakable_fs4
unbreakable_fs4

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Does anyone else ever encounter this problem?

You really like a specific character from the little you've seen but since they are already established, they have hundreds or even thousands of issues lying in wait to be read in order to amass the sufficient knowledge to be well versed on the character.

As a result of this frightening number of comics you'd have to catch up on, you end up reconsidering.

Bruxae

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

This is why I started reading with the New 52.

longbowhunter

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 1

Nah, I just look up recommended arcs and start there. Or dip my toes in with a miniseries.

unbreakable_fs4

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By unbreakable_fs4

@bruxae said:

Same here. I'm actually very new to comics, considering I read my first ever comic about two years ago. I've wanted on numerous occasions to delve deeper into a character's past incarnation but over and over again, I've been made to reconsider based on the sheer amount I'd have to read

unbreakable_fs4

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By unbreakable_fs4

@longbowhunter: That is a fair way to do things. I too do that sometimes but I do get the feeling I'm holding myself out from many, many things on that character.

The_Kidd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Yeah, so I just go for their most well known stories.

iDude

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#7  Edited By iDude

@bruxae said:

Same.

I also read most of the well known stories from pre-52.

longbowhunter

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@longbowhunter: That is a fair way to do things. I too do that sometimes but I do get the feeling I'm holding myself out from many, many things on that character.