Further proof that Comic Vine is the superior comic blog site out

Gold Dust Boi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 52

User Lists: 7

Edited By Gold Dust Boi

I am only writing this because I honestly needed to get this out and didn't know where to put it.

I have recently tried branching out to other sites to get to know the comic book community better and meet other fans and bloggers like myself.  I have had some really good experiences so far and had some great discussions with people.  However, one site I've been posting on, I am not disclosing the name, has been a less then wonderful experience.

I have known about  this page for a long time but I used it only for issue and character information, and only recently discovered their forums section.  So far of the handful of posts I've written on this site I have been met with nasty replies, cynical attitude, grammar correction in place of critique and discussion and finally one person telling me "why should we go to your site for polls and blogs...thats why we come here".

I tried to respond to him politely with a few good reasons to check out the site (as I want everyone to enjoy it, not just people I am friendly with) and was again met with a less then friendly response of "spamming your site is against the rules".

Now not everyone was as unpleasant as this user, but I honestly haven't said very many positive comments at all.  And as I read around I found it wasn't even personal.  The general tone of all the forum was rough and slightly scathing, the very opposite of the nurturing and supportive environment I enjoy on CV.   When did the comic books stop being about fun?  Even in heated debates with other fans, I would hope that the banter would always come from a place of discovery and support not to known down other peoples ideas and thoughts.  If we aren't going to be a community and support each other then whats the point of these sites?