After college, how long did it take you to get a job?

_Gaff_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

One you applied your degree towards.

BatWatch

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 238

User Lists: 1

I found a job teaching English a few months after I graduated, but that's not particularly good since it was right before school started and the only job I could find was at a horrible school three counties away from my home. I found teaching was awful, so I quit the field.

It's tough getting into a new field. You usually have to start at the bottom and work your way up. If you want to increase your chances, doing well in school helps, but personal connections are at least as important. Try to make contacts with other people in your same field of study who look likely to be successful for they can often offer you new connections (some have family with connections and some will become successful on their own and make their own connections). For the same reason, it's often a good idea to talk to people in the field and get some insight into the best way to be successful. If there are any prestigious internships available for your field, apply for them. Success means a great stepping stone, and even if you fail, you still made contacts.

I take these lessons from people who have been successful in various fields. I suck, but take a lesson from my successful acquaintances.

dshipp17

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By dshipp17