A question for computer science people.

magnablue

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

I'm just wondering. How often will I have to use high level math? Because I'm a freshman computer science major hoping to become a video game designer. And I have to take calculus and other high level math classes. But are they really necessary? I know math is important for engineers and other things like that. I already have used very basic math equations to declare some variables. But I'm not sure how much I'll really be using calculus. Because I honestly hate math.

kyrees

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By kyrees

not that much. heck, i haven't even used my college maths for a long time

VoloErgoMalus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By VoloErgoMalus

Doesn't video game design take a lot of geometry/space and change/motion into account? If so, I suspect a solid background in math would be helpful, seeing as it's the study of geometry and change. I don't know what aspect of design you want to be involved in, though. It could be that all you care about is the very broadest conceptual strokes, leaving others to worry about the details, but I doubt that, seeing as you are pursuing a CS major. Still, maybe this is just a launch pad for something more direction-oriented. There's little use in my guessing though haha

EDIT: I just realized, I'm not a computer science person :/

kyrees

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By kyrees

@darthmummy said: