#1 Posted by Jake7696 (14 posts) - - Show Bio

Despite collecting comics for a while I am fairly new to Marvel comics. At the moment I am picking up Super Spider-Man and Wolverine. I'm enjoying these I just wondered if there are any other people would recommend?

#2 Posted by Cap10nate (2155 posts) - - Show Bio

@jake7696: I think that there are a lot of good titles being released by Marvel right now. I will give some highlights of my favorites below. I don't read any of the X titles so hopefully someone else can give some reviews on them.

1. Thor: God of Thunder - This has been my favorite Marvel title so far as a whole. The whole story takes place in three different time periods (young Thor, current Thor, and King Thor) all dealing with Gorr the God butcher who is trying to kill all the Gods in the Marvel Universe. The dialog has been fantastic as has the art by Ribic. There is plenty of good action along with one of the more unique stories that Marvel is publishing. I believe that the current arc only has an issue or two left. If you want to go back and read the first 9 issues, I would highly recommend the series. If not, I would wait until this arc is finished because it definitely is not a great jumping on point at the moment because they are right at the climax of the story.
  2. Secret Avengers - The fifth issue was just released yesterday to this high action and witty story. The book is more of a S.H.I.E.L.D. book and uses the super heroes (Hawkeye, Black Widow, Mockingbird, and Hulk so far) to supplement their missions. The catch is that all these heroes agreed to be a part of this 'team' but their minds are wiped after each mission so they never know what is happening. This is the book that is most heavily influenced from the cinematic Universe. Coulson is a big character as is Nick Fury Jr. I think the pacing is great in the book and it has a lot of twists and turns with only 5 issues so far and is a fun ride so far.