Worth it to start reading the main Avengers ongoing?

Extremis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 19

User Lists: 55

I am fairly new to comics. I've been reading trades for about 2 years (mostly Batman) and only in the past 6 months or so have gotten into ongoing comics.

The Avengers titles I currently have are Uncanny Avengers and New Avengers. I just dropped Avengers Assemble this week as I just recently found out that Kelly DeConnick got dropped from the title. I wish now I started with the main Avengers title but I heard mixed opinions on it and never jumped on. The only issue I've read from that series is #1 a while back and I enjoyed it very much though I understood very little of what was going on.

Is it worth it to just jump on that title at this point? I don't want to buy all the back issues beforehand as I already have a ton of titles in my pull list, along with a trade every week. Will I be lost if I jump on this next issue?

Extremis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Extremis

Oh, and this is my quasi-introduction to the ComicVine community I guess. So hello all you Viners out there!

Avatar image for themanintheshoe
TheManInTheShoe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 17

#3  Edited By TheManInTheShoe

@extremis: A new sort of story arc I think begins in the next issue, so I think you should pick it up. It's a good title, but I don't really think the whole mega team is so smart, it becomes to much. I recommend Uncanny Avengers or New Avengers as well, if not more. I don't recommend Secret Avengers as much, though!

the_stegman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#4 the_stegman  Moderator

To me, New Avengers is much better, the current Avengers is...blah.

Binski

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#5  Edited By Binski

I'm picking it up and I'm liking it it also goes well with New Avengers, but my favorite Avengers title out now is Uncanny Avengers.