Why do superheros never age?

Netalife

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Netalife

Hi guys, I hope that you are all well. I am new to all this, so you will have to be a litte patient am afraid. I am a big DC fan (particularly hema-goblin) and was just wandering there why the vast majority of superheros don't age. With over 10,000 characters in the DC universe, how many actually age naturally compared to the vast majority that stay frozen in the prime of their life.

Netalife (The Interactive Global Comic)

Avatar image for deactivated-59d945143d79a
deactivated-59d945143d79a

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

@netalife: In the DC universe(preNew 52) they have retconned certain things like Hippolyta being the first Wonder Woman or made separate universes to avoid continuity errors. Some heroes do age like Sandman, Johnny Thunderbolt, the first Starman, Jay Garrick, Alan Scott(he appears younger because of the starhearts magic), and Wildcat.

Avatar image for themanintheshoe
TheManInTheShoe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 17

@netalife: Becuase they don't want their most iconic heroes and characters to be outdated.

Netalife

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Great comments, but do you not think it's odd that superman can move between being older and then younger again in sequential comic publications each year? I think it comes down to older characters not selling as much and higher financial returns from a wider, younger audience.

Netalife (The Interactive Global Comic Website)

Avatar image for norrinboltagonprime21
NorrinBoltagonPrime21

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

They do age but it takes them a long time to.

Uncanny_Doom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#6  Edited By Uncanny_Doom
Loading Video...