Why do people care about continuity so much?

LarryAshlynn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Well, I'm kinda new to comics (just started reading this year), but I wonder why pretty much everyone had their panties in a twist when something is retconned/rebooted, or when some things are changed.

Just asking :)

acer51

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By acer51

Because dedicated fans spend a lot of time getting to know the characters in the titles they read, they absorb everything the lore the knowledge all the little factoids about the character, his/her relationship with this characters the built up abilities and the development of the character him/herself.

If a character is rebooted then some of these things may be lost (depending on how severe the reboot). Like with One more day Spider-mans entire marriage is retconned which destroys his relationship with MJ which had been apart of his character development for the past 20 years a major change to most things in the characters life, this upset most fans because it destroyed a lot of character development and maturity that Spider-man had built from being married.

That's a relatively small thing you take a big thing like the new 52 where you basically have to throw out 90% of what you know about every character and only keep 10% of their core character, it's a true deal breaker for many DC fans but I don't know a lot of people like it for some reason.

VanderSEXXX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

For many readers like myself and some other viners here continuity is what keeps us reading since it builds up the lore that makes the stories within it more entertaining.