#1 Posted by Owie (3616 posts) - - Show Bio

I'm an artist and was discussing this with some other artists and writers (who also like comics) the other day. The question was, are there any comics that can compare to the masterpieces of other art forms?

So for instance, are there any comics, of any kind, that you would compare favorably with examples like Michelangelo's David, Monet's Water Lilies, Beethoven's 9th, Ornette Coleman's Shape of Jazz to Come, the Parthenon, Wright's Fallingwater, Shakespeare's Hamlet, Beckett's Waiting for Godot, Dostoevsky's Crime and Punishment, or Joyce's Ulysses? (These are just random examples.)

If not, what comics come the closest?

#2 Posted by Billy Batson (57753 posts) - - Show Bio

Maus? Acme Novelty Library?
BB

#3 Edited by Owie (3616 posts) - - Show Bio

BB

Good choices for sure, in terms of the apex of comics as an art. I would also consider things like Persepolis or Asterios Polyp. But do you think they get near the best of other art forms? Even if we just looked at the best of those other art forms over the past hundred years? I mean I really like comics for both entertainment and artistic expression, but I have a hard time comparing even a Maus or something by Chris Ware against a Duchamp, Cezanne, Warhol, Rauschenberg, Joyce, Beckett, Pynchon, etc.

#4 Posted by Billy Batson (57753 posts) - - Show Bio

@owie said:

@billy_batson said:

BB

Good choices for sure, in terms of the apex of comics as an art. I would also consider things like Persepolis or Asterios Polyp. But do you think they get near the best of other art forms? Even if we just looked at the best of those other art forms over the past hundred years? I mean I really like comics for both entertainment and artistic expression, but I have a hard time comparing even a Maus or something by Chris Ware against a Duchamp, Cezanne, Warhol, Rauschenberg, Joyce, Beckett, Pynchon, etc.

I'm sure you'll eventually find some comics that are quality of those... :p