Topic for the true comic/manga reader/lovers

JuzaCloud

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Questions

1. Would you stop reading a comic/manga if the main character dies? Even if the story is VERY good?

2. How much do cliches bother you?

3. How do you feel about OP characters? Are you more of a street leveler fan or does it not matter as long as the story and characters are really good?

I ask these questions because, I'm a writer myself, as a hobby, but have now enrolled in college specifically for this and whatever media may come along. I'm a peoples person and would like to flesh out the redundant things. Please leave your opinions.

MetalJimmor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

1. Definitely not. If anything that would make me more interested in the story because it sets a precedent that anything can happen. There are no safe zones and just because a character is the protagonist doesn't guarantee they'd succeed.

2. They don't. The only time a cliche really bothers me is if there's a LOT of them concentrated in a single character/scene.

3. OP is relative. What may be overpowered in one story won't be in another. For example Superman is not overpowered because he deals with superhuman threats that can challenge him. Likewise Batman is not under powered because he is exactly as strong as he needs to be to deal with his villains. The idea of over or under powered comes from when there's a massive power discrepancy between a character and what the character needs to be able to achieve.

jeepeh

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By jeepeh

1. No, I hate it when people use that logic. "Oh gosh! Kamina died! I can never watch Gurren Lagann again! Simon sucks!" *facepalm* Just no. It's the story, let's see where it goes.