• 92 results
#1 Posted by Vance Astro (91296 posts) - - Show Bio

As an artist I was always told that nothing is really original anymore. Most ideas come from somewhere. I have even been encouraged to do use reference material. That is especially true in comics, video games, manga, television and any commercial art form where characters are important. We can see the traits of celebrities and other characters in alot of things that have been created in out lifetimes. Some people call these characters rip-offs or clones but I like to think of them as homages or tributes. Seeing certain documentaries and extra footage from certain DVD's and hearing what the thought process and inspiration had been for certain things has always been interesting to me. For instance Frank Miller claims that inspiration for the character Elektra was Sand Saref, another female character featured in The Spirit comics. Or as another example, Jim Carrey says that the character Ace Ventura draws it's reference material from birds, everything from his hair, to the way he walks was based around birds. So i'd like to open a discussion about where we think certain ideas come from.