Noob: Comics or Bust

BoopityBoppity

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By BoopityBoppity

Hello everyone, I'm relatively new to comics but have been reading some older material for sometime. I really want to start reading some newer stuff but the one key problem... I have no idea whats going on.

It seems like there's always something crazy and world breaking that's going on nowadays in comics and I don't want to be plopped into a setting where I have no idea of what's going on and am completely confused and therefore pushed away from the comic.

So I guess I'm looking for a good comic series that I'll be able to hop into with only the basic understanding of what had happened before. I don't know if that's a lot to ask, but its worth a shot.

Thanks

warlock360

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

Basically both DC and Marvel had a soft reboot so hopping on now is as best a time as ever.

Veshark

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By Veshark

@boopityboppity

First off, welcome to the Vine and comics!

Secondly, I always tell new readers to not be worried about understanding everything at first. Mainstream superhero comics have huge universes and a long history, and most fans will learn overtime. Just read and enjoy yourself, eventually the blanks will start filling themselves in.

As for comic recommendations, it kinda depends on what you enjoy or what preferences you like. Is there a certain character that you're interested in? Do you like gritty noir crime, horror, science-fiction, cosmic heroes, fantasy, or just regular superhero fare? Do you like superheroes or do you want to try alternative genres or indie books?

Here are just some general recommendations (mostly superhero stuff):