New Harbinger and Comics in General

OnlyZeusIsFree

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By OnlyZeusIsFree

I'm new to comics, but not new to reading about them. I devour wiki pages about Marvel. I've read a lot of classic fiction, Dostoyevsky, Hemingway, etc., so I enjoy stories. But I am scared that I won't enjoy comics. I've recently tried to get into a few, and here's my gripe. The New Harbinger series so far seems very unoriginal. Kid has powers. Kid has friends. Kid must leave friends to answer his calling. This seems like the stuff that has been written and re-written for years, but the comic gets great reviews with people saying the plot and characters are very original. If Harbinger is an example of these things, I don't think I'll like comics.

What do you guys suggest considering my case? Any good recs?

CrimsonCake

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By CrimsonCake

Kingdom Come

Civil war

New avengers

Avengers academy

I especially suggest the Dark knight returns from Frank Miller.

OnlyZeusIsFree

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By OnlyZeusIsFree

ttt

Twentyfive

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Twentyfive

The first comic that you should buy above all else is Watchmen. Get the whole trade paper back. After that, Batman: Year One. Then All-Star Superman, and you are on your way...

Watchmen, almost 30 years later, remains the best comic you'll ever read. And Year one and All-Star are the best comics of their respective characters.

OnlyZeusIsFree

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By OnlyZeusIsFree

I have year one. I'm cracking it open tonight. Sweet. Thanks guys.

Katie24

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#6  Edited By Katie24

Maybe you should try some comics that are not super hero comics. I would suggest Y:The Last Man, Saga, Queen and Country, and Sandman.

Imagine_Man15

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3