• 51 results
AminoAcidMan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By AminoAcidMan

Hi guys, i'm very new in reading comics but i've read a fair amount of DC, Marvel and other publishers.

So which superhero/superpower do you think has the "laziest" origin. (i quote laziest because i don't think its the right term) and why?

IMO, i think the X-men, specifically the mutants, has the easiest/laziest (and really cool) explanation. There are just born with mutant powers because of the X gene, no explanation required, no lab and/or tragic accidents, no alien origin. They are just born with it, its really cool and all but sometimes its kinda boring (no offense to Xmen fans). For example, an author wants a hero that can turn/denature proteins into amino acids, its most basic component (i.e. Amino Acid Man), the only thing he/she needs is a name and make that guy a mutant and viola you have your new hero.

Liberty

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 301

User Lists: 87

#2  Edited By Liberty

IMO, i think the X-men, specifically the mutants, has the easiest/laziest (and really cool) explanation. There are just born with mutant powers because of the X gene, no explanation required, no lab and/or tragic accidents, no alien origin. They are just born with it, its really cool and all but sometimes its kinda boring (no offense to Xmen fans). For example, an author wants a hero that can turn/denature proteins into amino acids, its most basic component (i.e. Amino Acid Man), the only thing he/she needs is a name and make that guy a mutant and viola you have your new hero.

Agreed. You will probably get some flack for this with the Marvel/X-Men fans but, Stan Lee himself said he did it deliberately to avoid making a whole bunch of origins for a bunch of heroes and makes no apologies for it. It has grown into something else but facts are facts.

MakkyD

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By MakkyD