I'm extremely new to comics-Here are my thoughts on Marvel

negazurg

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So I've only been reading comics for a few months now. I decided to start reading with Marvel since I've been interested in Spider-Man, X-men etc. since I watched the cartoons in the 90's. I thought I could share a comic newcomer's thoughts on some series I have read. I have been mainly using Marvel Unlimited to read some old stuff, while reading some new stuff from my local comic shop.

-Ultimate Spider-Man #1 is a GREAT place to start with Spider-Man. I'm up to issue #90 now and I have really enjoyed it! I highly suggest starting there if you want to get into Spider-Man.

-Modern Amazing Spider-Man isn't very good. I started reading at the start of Brand New day(#546) and became extremely bored and stopped after issue 574. I skipped ahead and have been reading from the Spider-Island arc on, to get some back-story for Scarlet Spider and Superior Spider-Man.

-Scarlet Spider is definitely my favorite series so far. It has great action, and is just a fun, interesting book.

-I have also been enjoying Superior Spider-Man, it is also a decent place to start if you want to get into modern Spider-Man.

-The new Venom series is very good! It's an extremely interesting take on Venom, which is a character I have liked since I was little and watched the 90's Spider-Man show. It's a great action book and can sometimes get pretty dark which i enjoy.

-All new X-men is pretty good, but requires a little knowledge of X-men characters(I found the movies as well as some light wiki reading was enough). I do recommend reading Avengers VS Xmen beforehand though.

-I actually enjoyed Age of Ultron up until the last issue. I really enjoy post-apocalyptic themes as well as time travel and alternate dimension stories, so I enjoyed it. I found the ending anti-climatic as well as a big advertisement.