#1 Posted by Nahuel (391 posts) - - Show Bio

Hello people! I'm a Graphic Design student in college and I'm about to finish, but to graduate I'm investigating about the level of reading skills in my country and it's depressingly low.

I've asked coworkers and close family if they read something... anything! and most of the answers are no and those who read stopped doing it because of lack of money (buying an original book here it's really expensive) and almost all of them, when I asked how they learned to read, didn't remember how but later said it was in school (just as me), so I ask you Comic Viners: How did you learn to read? Was a comic book, a teacher, a close member of your family?

it will really help me! and if it's not so much asking, please spread the word about this topic.

In advance, Thank you very much!

#2 Posted by Nahuel (391 posts) - - Show Bio

By the way, I'm from Chile, so... si eres chileno o de habla hispana igual que yo, la ayuda sería aún mayor!

#3 Posted by MaccyD (5184 posts) - - Show Bio

Parent, I remember I learned how to read before I started school so I assume it was one of my parents who taught me.

#4 Posted by Arkhamc1tizen (2147 posts) - - Show Bio

@maccyd said:

Parent, I remember I learned how to read before I started school so I assume it was one of my parents who taught me.

probably this.

#5 Posted by Catsnlynne (1077 posts) - - Show Bio

My Mom taught me before I went to Kindergarten.

#6 Posted by joshmightbe (24800 posts) - - Show Bio

Hulk comics

#7 Posted by Wolverine08 (45947 posts) - - Show Bio

I don't remember.

#8 Posted by Hel (488 posts) - - Show Bio

Childrens comics and parents.

What really taught me to read well and fast were movies and TV. In scandinavia we dont dub foreign TVshows, films etc. In other words, if you wanted to know what was going on on TV you had to be able to read the subbed text. Worked well for me and I also learned English that way

#9 Posted by Edamame (28516 posts) - - Show Bio