#1 Edited by Exphio (16 posts) - - Show Bio

I'm new to comics and decided to try out dc since I'd seen a lot on the new 52 reboot. I did some research on characters and groups and I'm thinking of trying wonder woman, since I have an interest in greek mythology. Are her comics worth buying? Also, what other comics would you suggest?

#2 Edited by Battle_Forum_Junkie (8057 posts) - - Show Bio

@exphio:

I don't read New 52, but a friend of mine recommended Green Arrow, Flash, Batman, and Aquaman. There where a few more but i had forgotten. It was awhile back.

I'm pretty sure Wonder Woman was one of them, though.

#3 Edited by Veshark (9058 posts) - - Show Bio

Well Wonder Woman has most people split. Some people like the whole Greek myth aspect, but others dislike how it's not superhero-ish enough. I read some hate the changes to her origin as well, so the response is pretty mixed.

But in terms of the New 52, these are the books that have got solid critical acclaim so far: Aquaman (Best he's been in a while), Batman (been solid throughout the entire run), Justice League of America (New book, but looking good), and Action Comics. Aside from those traditional superhero ones, other non-superhero books are also getting good reviews. Swamp Thing, Animal Man, Dial H etc.

Also, welcome to comics! If you ever need help, feel free to drop me a PM.

#4 Posted by Bruxae (13984 posts) - - Show Bio

Im a bit annoyed with the lack of feats in Wonder Woman and this drawn out baby story, other then that its a great story and id say its well worth testing atleast.

Other then that id say Batman is a must, so is Justice League (This also allows you to keep somewhat up to date on characters you dont read).. I hear alot of good about Swamp Thing although i havent personally read it yet.. Id also say Superman is pretty cool if you are intrested in high powered characters, youll have to be patient the first few issues though cause it starts kinda slow.