Getting Back into Comics after 15+ Years. Suggestions Welcomed!

Agiyosi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Agiyosi

I used to casually read comics back in the '90s. I got into them mostly because of the art (I'm an artist, or was, rather; haven't drawn anything in a while), but did start to follow some characters/teams. I read some of the Hulk, X-Men, Spider-Man, and Batman. While Batman was my favorite, I'd say, I preferred the overall architecture and characters of Marvel. I followed some of the Image start-ups at first (I was/am a huge Jim Lee fan). I stopped reading comics, though, and am only now getting back into them. However, I did pick up Kingdom Come and some of the bigger Batman arcs like the Miller stories.

I plan on ordering the Planet Hulk and World War Hulk story arcs, as I always thought the Hulk was such a great character with potential, but so seldom realized; these stories seem like they at least try cashing in on that. I'd love to jump back into Spider-Man and Batman, too, but w/ all the reboots and such, I'm sort of lost. I know I plan on starting w/ the new Batman stories with the Talons, Night of Owls, and all that. Seems fairly interesting.

And I used to totally dismiss Doctor Strange since it was magic/the occult, but now that I'm older, for whatever reason, I think that stuff's really intriguing (from a story perspective). I wouldn't mind jumping into some his stuff and maybe the Avengers as well (and possibly Iron Man and Thor). If I like Strange I might even try the Defenders. Any suggestions where to start outside of the obvious classic origins, etc.?