Did the 90s kill comic book collecting?

Dreamcast89

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Dreamcast89

I'm new to the world of comics and was doing some research online. Apparently there was mass speculation in the 90s which lead to the death of comic collecting. Would you guys consider this a true statement? I was looking on ebay at comic lots and was happy that prices were low but sad at the same time. What's the point in holding on to the New 52 comics for example? Won't they be worthless thirty years from now? I don't even think it's so much about making money in the future. Even if you just collect for personal enjoyment it would be nice to know you have something not easily attainable and worth the space it takes up in your house.

Enosisik

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Enosisik

Not really it's just that it was at it's peek at that time so now that it has leveled out or even declined, it just seems like it. Digital comics and the insane prices are what's killing comic collecting.

evilvegeta74

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By evilvegeta74

@Dreamcast89: I think it happened in 2012, at least for me, but i'm trying to keep hoping.

Enosisik

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Enosisik

It's been through far worse than just weak sales. Remember they were in danger of bring outlawed and had the lame comic code for a long time. If it wasn't for the 90's comic boom we wouldn't be having all of the Marvel movies that we have today. It's just moving into new directions that were not available in the past. Like I said the price is the main problem . Back when I was a kid in the 90's I could save my lunch money for a couple days and buy a few comics. Now a kid would starve trying to do that 

Imagine_Man15

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#5  Edited By Imagine_Man15