Comics: where do I start?

AndrewNizzle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I hope I won't be laughed at because I am a complete newbie :D

So, I really want to get into the comics world, but I really don't know where to start. I do get that there are two teams, DC and Marvel, I am somehow familiar with their heroes, but I don't know which one to choose. But first things first, where do I get started? I really want to master all the history, I want to read older issues in order to understand the history of a character, and for that probably I should read issues that go way back in time.

Given this facts, I really hope someone can help me, perhaps guide me into this wonderworld of comics. Thanks!

Kraya

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Which characters interest you? It's hard to suggest something to you without knowing your interests, because there are so many different characters and so many different comics. You don't have to narrow it down to 1 or 2 characters, but having a general idea of what you want to read about would be really helpful.

Wolverine008

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

DC started a complete reboot of their universe in August of 2011 called the New 52. You can start with DC from their. No need to go way back in time. Marvel recently started a relaunch of most of their ongoing comics called Marvel Now in December in October of 2012. Just look into all the Marvel titles under "Marvel Now", and all the DC titles under "New 52" and you should be fine.

Avatar image for rulerofthisuniverse
RulerOfThisUniverse

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 11

@andrewnizzle: First you should decide which characters interest you. Anyone you really are interested in or not interested in?

AndrewNizzle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By AndrewNizzle

@wolverine08 said: