Comic Continuity explanation

Avatar image for xxedward_kenwayxx
XxEdward_KenwayXx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm new at this stuff so bear with me. How does continuity work in comics? I don't understand. Does every book take place in the same universe at the same time? Like say in the JL book they fight brainiac but in Flash's comic he's doing something else. Does it take place at the same time and day? Also, what are events? How often do they happen? Someone help me out please, I want to get into the New52 but the whole thing just seems complicated.

Spidey_Jackson

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Spidey_Jackson

No. Every comic does not occur at the same time. For instance, Batman:Zero Year was set in the past, but all of Batman's other appearances in other comics during when that that storyline was being written were set in the present. Comic book titles usually chronicle the adventures of a certain hero at any given point in time that suits the story. Batman could be getting trapped by Scarecrow in Detective Comics, but up and around in another book.

For example, when Peter died in ASM #700, Avenging Spider-man still featured him for a shortime. This is because that story was set before Peter's death.

Beata

JonnytheWolf

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#4  Edited By JonnytheWolf

How does continuity work in comic books?

The answer to this would take probably weeks/months of your time....not touching this one.

Does every book take place in the same universe at the same time?

No. Most are probably in the same universe and generally the same contemporary time period but don't have to line up on exact days. They are stories not diaries.

Does it take place at the same time and day?

No. Not unless it specifically and explicitly says so in the comics themselves. Most of the time the answer is no.

What are events?

Depends on who you ask.