#1 Posted by SOG7dc (8214 posts) - - Show Bio

hello all. my name is chris and i love superman.....ill give you all a moment to let that sink in.....so consequently i come here to draw on the knowledge and experience of you seasoned comic readers. im looking for you guys to post the best superman stories (aside from all star because im reading that now and it is just dripping in good) along with your favorite superman art. im new to comic vine and comics in general so any assistance advice complaints crtiticisms or suggestions are all very welcome. thanks in advance

#2 Edited by RideASpaceCowboy (539 posts) - - Show Bio

Superman is one of if not the most difficult characters for artist to depict apparently. Despite the fact that so many have attempted the undertaking, equally apparent is that so few have had great success in doing so. Listed below are those rare exceptions, ordered according to quality.

1. John Byrne (Man of Steel mini-series)
  2. Curt Swan (Whatever Happened to the man of Tomorrow?)
  3. Alex Ross (Kingdom Come)
  4. Jim Lee (For Tomorrow)
  5. Nicola Scott (Superman #3)
  6. Ivan Reis (Justice League)

Noble but failed attempts among otherwise stellar artists would include, in no particular order:

• Frank Quitely
  • Lienil Yu
  • George Perez
  • Brian Hitch
  • J.G. Jones
  • Gary Frank

I reserve the right to update these lists as I recall more artistic runs.

#3 Edited by SOG7dc (8214 posts) - - Show Bio

first of all thank you for responding with helpful input. secondly, and this could possibly be attributed to the fact that i am but an infant in regards to comic book reading, i absolutely LOVED frank quitely in all star superman. it was gorgeous. i love how he depicted the world how he drew lex and lois but most of all i loved his superman/ clark kent

#4 Posted by AllStarSuperman (23013 posts) - - Show Bio

Gary Frank

Jim Lee

Kenneth Rockfort

Frank Quitely

Tony Daniel

#5 Posted by RideASpaceCowboy (539 posts) - - Show Bio