The Montage vs. Character Development

RazzaTazz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1887

User Lists: 79

Edited By RazzaTazz

I have come to an interesting conclusion when it comes to writing. I do not profess to be an expert writer - I have never had anything published - but I think as a starting writer I can still make some observations. One of the things that I struggle with in writing is the idea of continuity. It is too easy to instead of filling in the gaps in character's lives to simply jump over large parts of the plot to get between areas of action of significant development of plot. The trade-off in doing so as generally at the expense of character development. By skipping the little stuff and the quiet moments, the reader is uncertain of the development of the characters and their own internal monologue which makes them more endearing. This is not a problem with aspiring writers - there are a lot of well-recognized famous authors that mostly skip over character development to tell their story. I will suggest as well that this is an increasingly harder problem in a science-fiction or fantasy setting as one of the underlying concepts behind these genres are the overall concepts and often not the development of the characters within. For instance, it is much more important for something sci-fi like to happen to Star Trek characters as opposed to them reflecting on their lives (not to say that this doesn't happen though - that Captain Picard is always talking about Moby Dick after all.)