RichGenX's advice on writing fan-fiction.

RichGenX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

How To Write Fan-Fiction

By RichGenX

Writing fan-fiction is just like anything else. If you approach it with a formula that works, you can write some pretty good, and pretty epic stuff. I know this for a fact because I’ve been writing up stuff for almost twenty years.

Now I have found, over the years, a formula that works for writing some good stuff. I didn’t use it in the beginning because I was new to not only writing, but also to the internet. In fact, a lot of my early stuff lacked in planning. My first prose was a mishmash of various fandoms, merging the universes of Aliens and Predators, Mega Man, X-Men, Star Trek, and a little bit of X-Files. I still look back at the fic, and shake my head, wondering what I was thinking. I had a general idea of how the fic should go, but I kept throwing stuff in.

As the years progressed, my stories found more structure. I started planning stuff out, making little changes to how I want things to go as I type them up. Very rarely do I write up something that doesn’t have a lot of planning to it. This is why my entries of Learning Gen-X Style in the Marvel Mayhem group are so well developed, even though I post them once a month.

Since I‘ve seen my fair share of works that are both wonderfully good, and completely dreadful, and I was also asked if I would share my methods with others, here they are.

1. First of all, pick something you are a fan of. This is one of the most crucial points. If you are a fan of a particular television show, comic book, book series, video game, or any form of media that attracts public attention, this is a good start. Fans of something put heart and soul into their stuff. They come up with fun stories, fueled by their imaginations. People who are not fans of a franchise, or generally vindictive people come up with hate filled garbage.