Amadeus Stone and the Dance of the Elite

Avatar image for deactivated-5d1828448d5f0
deactivated-5d1828448d5f0

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 21

[All characters in this story are entirely fictional. Any resemblance they may bear to real life peoples, places, and things are unintentional and should not be taken seriously.]

AMADEUS STONE AND THE DANCE OF THE ELITE

Murder. This whole country is full of it. They say that every fifteen seconds, a man is murdered. If this is true, how am I to decide who I should save? Whose murders should I solve? Who must I avenge? My name is Amadeus Stone. I am a retired war veteran of the age of thirty six. I live in Westminster, Britain. After my long service in Britain’s army, I turned my attention to detective work. Love me or hate me, I’m here to stay. As I write this, I remember that today is the anniversary of my first big mystery. I had solved several local crimes, but nothing as big as what was to come.

I had attended a party in the great halls of the King. There was a ball held only for the elite. It was a time for men and women of high society to forget their troubles. A time for them to forget the war on the other side of the Earth; for the patriots had just signed a ‘Declaration of Independence’ and a full scale war was on everyone’s mind.

Now I must admit that I was not invited to the ball, but I came nevertheless. I leaned in a corner, my pipe in my mouth. I watched and observed. I observed everything. A man, lean and wiry in frame smoked a well-carved oak pipe while talking to a rather large, sinewy man. My eyes darted across the room to a beautiful woman sneaking into a room with the Prime Minister’s son. No doubt they were ready to ‘have fun.’ The King’s guards laughed off to the left, the troubles forgotten for the night. The war didn’t matter. Not at the moment.

It was then that my ears caught a sharp whisper of ‘Amadeus!’ I did not need to turn around to know who it was.