Posted by Dud317 (314 posts) 1 year, 8 months ago

Poll: What is your origin to comics? (58 votes)

Since I was a kid. I'm a professional here... 19%
I read as a kid, left for a while, but now I'm back. 48%
They had comics when I was younger? What have I been doing with my life? 33%

It occurred to me how much I follow comic news and look forward to wednesdays, so I got to thinking about my own origin as well as others. How did you get into comics? Was there a specific book or moment that made you fall in love with three-color mythology? Did you leave and come back like me? Mine is as follows.

As a child, I primarly read Marvel, yet always Batman. I was barely old enough for the first Burton movie, but it was at the time the coolest demonstration I've seen yet. But then I got caught up in school, sports, and puberty. Fast forward about 20 years to around the time of Final Crisis. I saw the cover of Superman, holding what appeared to be Batman, dead! I couldn't believe my eyes. I HAD to know more. Now, I've read the classics, but I went on a serious bender here. Over the course of a year, I read everything, starting with COIE, moving chronologically to the weekly books, which was during Brightest Day at this point. This included every relevant tie-in, not just to Batman, but to any major story line. I travel for a living, so I was able to raid the bargain books of nearly every brick and mortar across the US and Canada. In roughly 12 months time, I read approximately 20 years of DC continuity. I also read more than just DC, but the point is, my personal reboot has been a huge success, and I haven't looked back.

What's your story???

#1 Posted by Xwraith (27120 posts) - - Show Bio

I first got into comics around the time X2 came out, but I lost interest about a year later.

Fast forward to 2010, and the combination of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and a friend who liked Deadpool get me back into the comic world.

#2 Posted by Wolverine08 (48784 posts) - - Show Bio